top of page

Sama's Christmas



Sama could not sleep, so she tossed and turned. The next day was the 25th of December, Christmas day. Have I been bad? What if I’ve been bad? If I’ve been bad, Santa wont come! These, and other disturbing thoughts plagued her, until overcome by tiredness, she fell asleep.


Maliya wished she hadn’t been cheeky, but there wasn’t much she could do about it now, so she went out like a light.


Arana slept soundly with no worries or fears.


The next morning, Sama, Maliya and Arana woke up, but before they could check if Santa had given them gifts, they were told to hurriedly get ready, as they were planning to climb a big mountain and play on top of it.


“I want you back for breakfast by nine so you better open your presents later,” Mom had insisted.


It was a cold snowy day, so they got dressed in warm clothes.


Sama complained to Arana as she got ready, “Mother is so mean! I didn’t even get to look if Santa gave me a gift. I mean how awful, right?”


Arana replied, “She did say we could look later, plus who wants to see Christmas presents when they can barely open their own eyes. But a snowball fight is sure to wake us up good nod proper. Hurry now!”


“A snowball fight!” Sama’s eyes lit up. “Okay, let’s go,” she said, as she took out her hiking stick.


They climbed up the snow-covered mountain as quickly as they could manage.


They were enjoying a snowball fight at the top of the mountain, when a pretty red sleigh pulled by a dozen reindeer stopped right next to them.


“ Ho, ho, ho,” someone called out.

“It’s Santa,” Sama whispered excitedly. “Hi Santa,” she said out loud, jumping and waving her arms in glee.


“ Hi Golan,” Anathri said. “Sama this is Golan from the castle you all found me in.”



Santa said “ Hi Anathri. Sama, have you opened your gift yet?”


“I got a gift? What gift? I was a little cheeky, right?” Sama was curious.


Santa replied “ You were a golden girl. I have never met someone as lovely as you. You even saved Anathri from loneliness. It was so brave. No one else would have done it. Even now you take care of her with your golden heart.”


Sama was overcome with happiness on hearing this from Santa Claus. “Thank you Santa!” She jumped for joy, accidentally chucking a snowball at Santa. “Oops! I’m so sorry. Do I still get to keep my gift?” Sama panicked.


“Of course, sweetheart,” Santa replied. “You’re welcome, Sama. Goodbye, I’m going to head back home. As you know, it has been my most tiring night of the year!” Santa yawned.


After Sama won the the snowball fight, they headed home.


Arana asked “Anathri, are you related to Santa Claus? ”


Anathri replied, “ No, I am related to Golan.”


“Aren’t they the same? Tell us why Golan became Santa.”


“As you know, me and my family lived in a small castle, and years ago, my family got attacked by a soldier and everyone died except me. Well, that’s what I had thought, butone body of my family was missing and after checking carefully I figured out that it was Golan. Then he came by one day to tell me that he had escaped. He thought that if he was kind to people, then people would start being kind to each other. He needed a special name, and I helped him choose St. Nickolas, and people from all over the world started calling him Santa Claus.” Anathri explained.


At this point, everyone was gaping at Anathri.


But then Sama remembered her present from Santa and hurried home. She rushed off to her stocking to see what Golan had given her. There was a chocolate bar and a rope that led to Sama’s new sleigh and reindeer just in the backyard.


“Yay! Anathri, can you call Golan and tell him I want to ride with him next year?” Sama shouted in glee.


“Sure, but it’s very hard work delivering toys to every child in the world, you know!” Anathri said.


“Who cares! I get to hang out with Santa,” Sama responded.


Mama called them for breakfast. “I made Santa shaped cookies,” she announced.


“You want us to eat Golan!” Anathri growled to a mystified Mama.


Everyone else laughed.


bottom of page